Seminole County DUI Attorney
Seminole DUI Lawyer Helps Clients in Orlando, Longwood and Across Central Florida
DUI charges are taken very seriously by Florida prosecutors and can have long lasting consequences in your and your family's life. For this reason, it is crucial that you contact a highly experienced DUI defense attorney as soon as possible, who can evaluate your case and suggest possible defense strategies. As a former senior Florida prosecutor, DUI defense attorney Jack Kaleita is thoroughly familiar with how criminal cases are handled and prepared for trial by the government against the accused. Use this knowledge to your advantage and contact us today if you have been charged with DUI in Central Florida! Our early intervention can make a big difference in the outcome of your case!
What is DUI?
Under Florida Statute 316.193, a person is guilty of driving under the influence or DUI if the person is
- driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state and:
- under the influence of alcoholic beverages, or any chemical or controlled substance and
- is affected to the extent that the person's normal faculties are impaired
DUI Penalties - Florida Law
If you have been charged with a DUI , you face mandatory penalties.
For a first time DUI conviction :
- You can serve up to 9 months in jail depending on factors like the level of your intoxication or whether any minors were in the car
- You can be sentenced to complete a year of probation
- Your car will likely be impounded for 10 days
- Your drivers license will be suspended for at l
- east 6 months
- You may also have to have an ignition interlock device for up to 6 months, complete substance abuse counseling, and complete a DUI school
If you are convicted of DUI twice in 5 years, your sentence will normally include:
- A maximum of 12 months jail (with a 10 day minimum) depending on the level of your intoxication and whether there were minors in the car with you
- A 5 year drivers license suspension
- An ignition interlock device for a minimum of one year
- An impound of your vehicle for up to 30 days
If you are arrested 3 or more times, depending on how recently the last conviction was, for what would normally be a simple misdemeanor DUI offense , the State could still charge you with a felony. DUI , as a third degree felony, can carry with it up to 5 years in prison in the State of Florida and can also include a permanent drivers license revocation. Do not take DUI charges lightly! Former Florida felony prosecutor provides experienced defense to clients accused of DUI in Orlando, Longwood and Central Florida .
Contact an Experienced Longwood DUI Defense Lawyer
If you are charged with DUI , you are going to need the services of someone experienced in all aspects of a DUI charge . In addition to being in private practice and defending DUI cases for more than a decade at this point, back during his tenure as a prosecutor, Orlando DUI Defense Attorney Jack Kaleita spent 5 years as the Misdemeanor/Traffic Division supervisor, which means not only did he try those cases himself, he supervised a team of attorneys doing the very same thing. Who better knows the game plan of the prosecution that someone who used to teach it to them? Let his experience work to your benefit. Call Attorney Jack Kaleita right away at (407) 831-7800 or at (866) 422-7934 or send an email at firstname.lastname@example.org for a free initial consultation. We value your privacy and will keep your information under the strictest confidentiality.
- What do I do if I get stopped for a DUI in Florida?
- How can I challenge a DUI in the State of Florida?
- How does a DUI in Florida affect my insurance?
- What is a DUI?
- Can I avoid jail time for 2nd DUI?
- Can a first offense DUI be dismissed?
- Does DUI ruin your life? Is it worth fighting a DUI?
- Can you still drive to work with a DUI?
- Do I have to tell my employer about a DUI?
- What happens if I refuse a breathalyzer or blood test to determine my blood alcohol content?